Recipe: Kale pesto with sunflower seeds and walnuts (VG) (GF)

I popped into Asda (my local supermarket) after work because we ran out of cream crackers. I’m really bad when it comes to shopping, because I might go somewhere for 1 item and then end up leaving with 20 (I then get an earful from mum asking where we are going to put it all).

I thought this might be a good opportunity to try and come up with a new dish. Nishant has recently turned vegetarian and is contemplating going vegan (I could never do that…I love KFC too much).

While I was roaming aimlessly up and down the aisles looking for the crackers, I thought to myself, “I wonder what kind of dishes Nishant could eat if he went vegan”. I then decided I would try and experiment when I got home and quickly scurried down a few other alises to pick up some vegan produce. I pondered on what I could do with all these ingredients – and voilà! – Kale pesto was born.

I decided to serve the pesto with some organic edamame spaghetti. It tasted pretty good, but generally with most vegan alternatives – the spaghetti was very pricey.

Kale pesto with sunflower seeds and walnuts (VG) (GF)

IMG_20170801_220801_HDR
Artsy photo of my creation

Yield: Makes 4 servings

Ingredients

  • 75g Kale
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 tbsp sunflower seeds
  • 1 tbsp walnuts (broken down)
  • 1¼ tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • ¾ garlic clove

Method

  1. Firstly you want to cook the kale until wilted, then put it aside for later. I washed and drained the kale and then put it in a bowl with 2 tablespoons of water and covered it in a microwave for 2 minutes on full power
  2. Toast the broken down walnuts and sunflower seeds in a pan until the seeds slightly darken in colour and you can really smell the natural oils on the walnuts (it smells so good)
  3. Either in a grinder or using a pestle and mortar, combine the kale and the rest of the ingredients until you get a rough grainy texture. Don’t over do it as you want the crunch of the seeds (you DON’T want a paste). Add more oil if needed to get the right consistency
  4. Combine the pesto with whatever you wish, coating it lightly (I mixed it with some edamame spaghetti)

Leave a Reply

